Theft Defense in Auburn, Alabama
The Alabama criminal code determines that a person commits a theft of property when they knowingly acquire or exert unauthorized control over another’s property to divest the owner of their property. Under the state law, theft is handled in various ways.
The crime includes a wide range of acts with statutory maximum penalties, ranging from a minimum fine or one-year imprisonment to $30,000 in fines and up to 20 years of incarceration. At times, a person could commit a theft without even realizing it due to how the Alabama statute defines theft.
There are serious personal and professional consequences associated with being convicted of theft crimes. Along with severe criminal penalties and restitution, people convicted of theft typically lose their careers, employment opportunities, social standing, and even the right to own firearms which is frightening with all those high crime rates in certain parts of this country.
If you have been accused of a theft crime, you should promptly seek legal counsel. An Auburn theft defense lawyer from the Alsobrook Law Group will provide sound representation you can trust.
Alabama Theft Laws
According to Alabama law, property or services’ theft can be charged in the first, second, third, or fourth degrees. Depending on what the perpetrator stole and its value, they could face a misdemeanor or felony theft charge.
Theft of Property
A person can be charged with theft if they knowingly acquire or exert unauthorized control over another individual’s property with the intent to deprive the other of their property. Stemming from this, you can be charged with theft by deception in AL, which may involve lying to the other person, failure to rectify a misinterpretation or false impression, or devising a scheme to steal funds or property.
Theft of Property in the First Degree in Alabama
In cases where the value of the stolen property is over $2,500; the property is an automobile, regardless of its value; or the theft is a part of a common scheme or plan to transfer at least $1,000 in property within 180 days to individuals who are aware that the property is stolen, the offender will be charged with a Class B felony in AL.
Theft of Property in the Second Degree in Alabama
A Class C felony charge will be applicable if you are accused of stealing property between $1,500 and $2,500 in value, any kind of firearm, a controlled substance, or livestock.
Theft of Property in the Third Degree in Alabama
If you are accused of stealing property between $500 and $1,499 or a debit or credit card, then you will face a Class D felony charge.
Theft of Property in the Fourth Degree in Alabama
The theft of property valued less than $500 is a Class A misdemeanor in Alabama. It is also called a petty theft charge.
Theft of Services in Alabama
An individual can be charged with theft if they intentionally obtain services that they know are available by compensation through threat, deception, false token, or another means of avoiding payment. Correlating with this, a person can be charged with theft of services if they have control over the disposition of those services and divert them for personal benefit.
Theft of Services in the First Degree
Individuals accused of stealing more than $2,500 worth of services will face Class B felony charges.
Theft of Services in the Second Degree
If the stolen services range between $1,500 and $2,500, it is considered second-degree theft of services. The offender will face a Class C felony charge in such cases.
Theft of Services in the Third Degree
If the theft is services ranges between $500 and $1,499, it is deemed a Class D felony.
Theft of Services in the Fourth Degree
Upon stealing services valued at less than $500, you will face Class A misdemeanor charges.
If you face charges related to stealing another individual’s property or services, contact Alsobrook Law Group. It is imperative for you to understand the differences between first, second, third, and fourth-degree theft in Auburn, AL, including the possible penalties. You could be looking at jail time, even for misdemeanor theft. Therefore, you need someone who can fight these charges aggressively on your behalf.
Theft Crime Penalties in AL
Alabama law provides for varying degrees of theft, robbery, and burglary as each degree is a different class of felony or misdemeanor. This allows each class to have differing penalties. The severity of the potential penalty will depend on the class of the theft crime.
The statutory penalties for felonies and misdemeanor include the following:
- Class C Misdemeanor: Up to three months imprisonment and fines up to $500
- Class B Misdemeanor: Up to six months incarceration and fines up to $3,000
- Class A Misdemeanor: Up to one-year imprisonment and fines up to $6,000
- Class D Felony: Between one year and one day and five years’ imprisonment and fines up to $7,500
- Class C Felony: Between one year and one day and ten years imprisonment and fines up to $15,000
- Class B Felony: Between two and 20 years behind bars and fines up to $30,000
- Class C or B with a Firearm or Deadly Weapon: No less than ten years of jail time
- Class A Felony: Between 10 and 99 years or life behind bars and fines up to $60,000
- Class A Felony with a Firearm or Deadly Weapon: No less than 20 years behind bars
It is crucial to understand that you face weeks or months of incarceration even for a first misdemeanor theft offense. Consult a theft defense attorney immediately about whether you have been charged with the correct degree of theft or whether you should be facing a lesser charge.
Also, you should consult our Auburn theft crime defense lawyers on your options to mitigate the consequences of a possible conviction. Our attorneys may create a strategy for pursuing probation and community service in place of imprisonment.
Speak to a Skilled and Knowledgeable Theft Defense Attorney in Auburn, AL
Irrespective of the type of theft crime charge that you face in Auburn, AL, the consequences can be severe in every case. If you face felony or misdemeanor charges, call us at Alsobrook Law Group to speak to a theft attorney right away.
Our aim will be to have the charges dismissed or at least reduced. Or we may fight for you at trial and pursue an acquittal. If your case goes to trial, we will take every measure to pursue the lowest possible penalty if convicted. Call today at (334) 737-3718 to speak to a skilled theft defense attorney.